Transition Specialists

SBCAE Transition Specialists function as the connective tissue between our members and are instrumental in operationalizing our No Wrong Door model of Universal Pathways. They help students navigate our systems and facilitate the many possible transitions available to them.

Core Transition Specialists Functions are:

  • Conduct student intake and orientation
  • Facilitate students’ education transitions
  • Facilitate students’ transition to the workforce
  • Facilitate students’ transitions to civic participation
  • Connect students to support services
  • Plan and conduct outreach and community engagement activities

Transition Specialists are embedded within each of our member organizations, and meet regularly as a Community of Practice. As with other work groups, their joint activities are guided by the consortium’s Three Year Regional Plan, Annual Plan and Projects Plans.

Current year projects, aligned with Project 5 in the 2020-2021 Work Plan include:

  • Development of a TS Resource Hub
  • Inform SBCAE’s common data collection and reporting standards
  • Case consultation
  • Professional development
Transition Specialist District Email
Angela Holmes Milpitas Adult Education aholmes@musd.org
Ana R. Camacho San José City College Ana.Camacho@sjeccd.edu
Christine Auran Campbell Adult Education cauran@cuhsd.org
Orlando Carrera Evergreen Valley College orlando.carrera@evc.edu
Kelle Mason Campbell Adult Education kmason@cuhsd.org
Margarita Ortiz-Minett Campbell Adult Education mrortiz@cuhsd.org
Steve Duong Mission College steve.duong@missioncollege.edu
Patti Gairaud Silicon Valley Adult Ed pgairaud@metroed.net
Patty A. Lopez West Valley College patricia.lopez@westvalley.edu
Sajeemas Mint Pasakdee Santa Clara Adult Education spasakdee@scusd.net
Sonya Espinola East Side Adult Education espinolas@esuhsd.org

TS Resource Hub